Pulled off some Pulled Pork

*Preface: I am a sub-par to average cook. I’m in my early twenties and have not amassed much in the way of cookware. Oh and I’m cheap this comes from a bit of necessity (see poor) and my preference to spend the money I do have on going out and socializing (see drunk)

Most people use a full pork shoulder. I imagine this is good but frankly it seemed a daunting task so I opted for some pork shoulder boneless ribs from Costco, which looked much more manageable and rang in @ a whopping $0.99 per lb. Cha-Ching. Here’s what else I used:

Marnination (1 Day, probably no biggie with less time)

  • Salt & Pepper
  • Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce w/ Chilies
  • Onion
  • Bit of Pepper Mustard BBQ Sauce (1 g sugar per 2 tablespoons)*
  • Pork Shoulder Boneless Ribs (also known as Country Ribs, atleast thats what google said)
  • Aluminum Foil
Here are the steps I used:
  1. Pre-heat oven to 300
  2. Line pan with aluminum foil
  3. Place that sexy meat in said pan (dish, pot, whatever as long as it doesn’t blow up in the oven)
  4. Cover meat, all of it , with aluminum foil
  5. Gently place in to oven
  6. Cook for 2.5 hours
  7. Pull-out of oven (good boy)
  8. Let it cool for 10 minutes or so
  9. Pull that pig apart with your bare hands. It should be falling apart as you pick it up.
  10. Mix in some more BBQ sauce (stray from sugary ones) and enjoy.
I love pulled pork. Accomplishing this task was almost better then sex. Nevermind, thats not true. It was good though and really made my week. I’ll be making it in plenty and often.
* Sugar ? Sugar is not paleo. No shit. Am I going to freak out about it though and throw away 5 lbs of pork because I didn’t have 100% sugar free BBQ sauce and didn’t want to make any. Nope, that is something that I will not do.
One thought on “Pulled off some Pulled Pork

  1. Pingback: Paleo in the News « paleo or die

Leave a Reply

